Florence & Giles

John Harding
HarperCollins UK • 2010

A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw.In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her you...nger brother are  neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books in secret and talks to herself—and narrates her story—in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles.After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful enemy, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to protect her little brother and preserve her private world. This Gothic page-turner in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher is told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.
Viac

Co jsem přečetla Doporučuji

Nevzpomínám si, kdy jsem naposledy dočetla knihu s pusou otevřenou dokořán a první souvislá myšlenka, která mi vytanula na mysli, bylo: panebože, tohle se nestalo!!!?  A přesně takhle jsem dneska dočetla Florence a Gilese. Této větě bezprostředně předcházel úsek, kdy se mi v hlavě jako správnému „kyberdítěti“ prohánělo jen OMG!!! a WTF!?! A nebylo to kvůli otevřenému konci. Jen jsem prostě[...]

Čítať ďalej
A gripping, sinister Gothic tale inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James's The Turn of the Screw.

In 1891, in a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence and her younger brother are  neglected by her guardian uncle. Banned from reading, Florence devours books in secret and talks to herself—and narrates her story—in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles.

After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful enemy, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to protect her little brother and preserve her private world. This Gothic page-turner in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher is told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.